

## SPRING NEWSLETTER THE WESTERN SOCIETY FOR PEDIATRIC RESEARCH

Vol. 28, No. 2

May 2013

Dear WSPR Members,

Spring greetings to our WSPR family, and welcome new members! It is an honor for me to serve as this year's President of the Western Society for Pediatric Research. We have added a short Spring newsletter to our usual Summer and Winter newsletters to remind you to be thinking about possible nominees from your institution for the various awards WSPR offers, and to consider nominating your colleagues for membership.

For the upcoming meeting January 23-25, 2014, the combined societies (WSPR, WSCI, WAP, WSAFMR, and WSMRF) have chosen the theme of **Personalized Medicine**. In keeping with this theme, it is my pleasure to welcome long time WSPR member **Robert Lane** as **the 2014 Stanley Wright Speaker**. Dr. Lane is former Division chief of Neonatology at The University of Utah, now Professor and Chair of the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. His lifelong commitment to research involving the 'personalized medicine' of Epigenetics will provide the perfect start to a Friday morning of outstanding presentations in the main Theater of the Sunset Center. The final schedule for the 2014 meeting will be provided in a later newsletter, and will closely follow last year's schedule of sessions held at the Sunset Center.

I am delighted to announce acceptance of nominations for the following **Abbott Nutrition Awards.** The awards are summarized on our website: <u>http://www.aps-spr.org/Regional\_Societies/WSPR/2013/awards.htm</u>

I am hopeful that this year will bring an abundance of outstanding nominees from a wide variety of institutions throughout the West! Please consider nominating your deserving colleagues and trainees.

The Joseph St. Geme Education Award: This award is conferred every other year to a distinguished WSPR member with outstanding achievement in education. Past awardees include Donald Fink, David W. Smith, John C. Carey, David K. Stevenson and Gene Hoyme. These nominees should represent the finest educators and academic role models at your institution, those who would require replacement by two new faculty to fill their shoes! In the words of a previous winner, "The only problem with every other night call is that you miss half the fun!"

**The WSPR Abbott Nutrition Young Investigator Award**: This award is conferred every year to an outstanding Pediatric Scientist in the early phase (Assistant Professor) of their career. Past recipients include Philip Sunshine, Kurt Stenmark, Alan Jobe and our upcoming Stanley Wright Speaker, Robert Lane. Please share your brightest new Pediatric Researchers with WSPR!

**The David W. Smith Pediatric Trainee Research Award:** This award is conferred every year to an outstanding Pediatric Scientist in the training phase (resident or fellow) of their career. Past awardees include Steven Abman, William Benitz, Christine Burren and Con Yost. Nominees are expected to submit an abstract to WSPR and present their work during the plenary session.

**The Lowell Glasgow Student Research Award:** This award is given to the student with the most outstanding abstract submitted to WPSR. A copy of the student's abstract must accompany the nomination letter. Past awardees include Richard Kelly, Ken Liechty, David A. Stevenson (aka, Stevenson the Younger) and Mary Crisham Janik.

Please send your nominations (a letter detailing your nominee's accomplishments accompanied by their CV) to David Viskochil (<u>Dave.Viskochil@hsc.utah.edu</u>) or myself (<u>ROhls@salud.unm.edu</u>), and feel free to email either of us with questions about any of the awards or the nomination process.

Dues notices have been emailed to all WSPR members with current contact information, and payments are easy to complete through the on line Paypal system. The WSPR maintains its financial vitality through continued membership renewal and dues collection. Please go to the website: <u>http://www.aps-spr.org/Regional\_Societies/WSPR/2013/membership.htm</u> and complete your payment. Right now. Then come back and read the rest of the newsletter.....

Now that you have paid your dues for 2013 and successfully renewed your membership, we remind you that nominating deserving colleagues for new membership is a part of being an active member, and we encourage you to do so. Nominations are accepted any time up until 2 weeks before the meeting, and will be reviewed by the Council for consideration prior to presenting nominees to the WSPR membership at the Business meeting.

Stay tuned for the call for abstracts this August.

Best Regards,

Robin Ohls President WSPR

#### Notes from Secretary/Treasurer:

For those who made the Carmel meeting last January, we hope the new agenda and venue was not too disruptive. We worked hard to accommodate the budget restrictions imposed to maintain a cost neutral meeting. We were successful in decreasing the expenses substantially, which enhances our capacity to maintain this meeting in the future.

Key awardees for the 2013 meeting:

Abbott Nutrition Young Investigator Research Award: Dina Panagiotopoulos, MD (UBC) David W. Smith Pediatric Trainee Research Award: Erika Mandell, DO (U of Colorado) Lowell Glasgow Medical Student Research Award: Mary Crisham Janik (UCSF)

2013 Mead Johnson Travel Awards for residents and fellows based on abstract score:

Nidia Alduncin (Stanford University) Edward Esplin (Stanford University) Michael Hiatt (University of British Columbia) Bernardo Kracer (Stanford University) Michael Niaki (Stanford University) Stefano Da Stacco (University of Southern California) Martina Steurer (UCSF)

2013 Abbott Nutrition Subspecialty Awards for medical students based on abstract score:

Jeremy Alvord (University of Utah) Ben Alvord (University of Utah) Joyce Ang (Stanford University) Kevin Lawson (University of Washington) David Roach (University of Washington) Julie Thai (University of Nevada) New WSPR Members 2013:

Paul Do, MD (Memorial Care, Long Beach California) William Dobyns, MD (University of Washington) Andrea Duncan, MD (University of New Mexico) Tara Dupont, MD (University of New Mexico) Allison Eddy, MD (University of British Columbia) Josephine Enciso, MD (UCLA) Irene Loe, MD (Stanford University) Lisa Joss-Moore, PhD (University of Utah) Kevin Lemley, MD (University of Southern California) Jean Lowe, PhD (University of New Mexico) Amber Messier-Gieri, MD (University of New Mexico) Robin Steinhorn, MD (UC, Davis) Kathy Lee-Son, MD (University of British Columbia) (Trainee)

#### New Council Members:

Echezona Ezeanolue, MD, (Infectious Disease; University of Nevada) Erika Fernandez, MD (Neonatology; University of New Mexico) Con Yost, MD (Neonatology; University of Utah)

Paul Rozance

David Stevenson

### Remaining Council 2013-2014

President: Robin Ohls President Elect: Kurt Albertine Past President: Colin White Secretary/Treasurer: David Viskochil Of Counsel: Marilyn C. Jones; Bill Hay Council Members: Kathy Angkustsiri Jean Paul Collet Roberta Keller Vedang Londhe (rohls@salud.unm.edu]
(kurt.albertine@hsc.utah.edu)
(cwhite@cw.bc.ca)
(dave.viskochil@hsc.utah.edu)

(angkuk01@gmail.com) (jcollet@cw.bc.ca) (kellerr@ucsf.edu) (vlondhe@mednet.ucla.edu) (paul.rozance@ucdenver.edu) (david.stevenson@hsc.utah.edu)

<u>Reminder:</u> Dues for academic year 2013-2014 are due in July, 2013. Notification of your dues status will be provided by Tammy Sheffield prior to July 1, 2013; however, if you have a PayPal password you can access your payment history by going to:

https://www.paypal.com/us/webapps/helpcenter/helphub/article/?articleID=94020&topicID=11500010&m=TTQ# seeing\_your\_payment\_history

Enjoy the summer and,

# CHEERS!